the chronic 1987

The first tape I ever owned was Best of the Beach Boys Vol. 2. I got it at target for the NICE PRICE of $4.99 and DON’T WORRY BABY was my jam. Brian Wilson pretty much killing it.

The second tape I owned was NWA and the Posse. It was a bootleg I bought from Mitchell Robe in the 5th grade and came complete with photocopied album art. He got the original tape from a kid at summer camp and made a killing selling off copies of it until the PTA shut him down.

Which leads me to this Dr. Dre mix I found whilst trolling the nets. It features tracks by Eric B. and Rakim and Salt and Peppa, a freestyled intro by Eazy E and cuts by Dre. Mitchell Robe could have made a killing.

This tape was acquired by RUFFBIZNESS at a swap meet and presented for you here. In case you neglect the math that makes this tape 20 years old. What What.

WATCH & LISTEN!!! – Dr. Dre ’87 mixtape part 2

WATCH & LISTEN!!! – Dr. Dre ’87 mixtape part 3

8 Comments

Filed under hiphopmusic, web trolling

8 responses to “the chronic 1987

  1. Ptrx

    20 years ago-7th grade-‘Straight Outta Compton’ was my intro to NWA and to the west coast rap scene in general. It cracks me up thinking about it now, but I used to listen to it on my walkman every night while falling asleep. Ever notice how every word of those ‘falling asleep’ albums is still with you? That’s the case with me anyway. Now, 20 years later, I’ve been teaching in the CPT for five years. My kids assume full ownership of everything that ever came out of there, and are shocked that I even know who they are. Little do they know I could recite every word and loop on the album, if I wasn’t their teacher. BIG SALUTE MIXTAPE! on a historical 20th anniversary.

  2. Pingback: two of the best together for the first time « Mixtape Mixtape!!!

  3. Pingback: class in session « Mixtape Mixtape!!!

  4. Bruns

    I usually don?t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful

  5. I’m just going to throw this out there since no one ever wants to discuss this topic:

    I’d rather go to Fantastic Sams than Great Clips to get a haircut

  6. Thank you Dear Michael Torado; but and you not follow and not comments.?

  7. Easy How can you tell if your wife is dead? The sex is the same but the dishes pile up

Leave a Reply

