welcome to the picture show (MPSU #6)

This is the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Thank you for being here to share it with us…

MUSIC AND MOVIES. These two things pretty much rule my world and I’ve been waiting for their forces to collide here on the blog. I’ve been scouring THE NETZ for a good soundtrack mix for a hot minute now and of course just when I was ready to give up someone sends one to me. I dig the way this universe thing works yo.

JC of playjazzloud hit me with some mixes and I wetted myself when I saw that a soundtrack mix was among them. Then I started listening to the mix and I wetted myself again as it starts off with Johnny Greenwood’s Future Markets from everybody’s favorite MILKSHAKE movie, There Will Be Blood. By the time the mix bumps Air’s High School Lover from The Virgin Suicides I had to change my pants completely. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

-A rad selection and deftly mixed! EBERT & ROEPPER

-The thrill ride of the summer! REX REED

-Kiss me and I’ll kiss you back! DIGITAL UNDERGROUND

LISTEN!!! – THE PLAYJAZZLOUD PICTURE SHOW VOL. 1

(tracklist)

4 Comments

Filed under mixes people sent us, rockbluesfolk

4 responses to “welcome to the picture show (MPSU #6)

  1. JC

    Mate you are too kind re: the mix! hope people enjoy.

    If you’re up for more soundtrack mixes a) Vol 2 will be happening some time and b) check out a mix Gilles Peterson did at his podcast page here

    [audio src="http://www.gillespetersonworldwide.com/podcasts/01_rated_gp.mp3" /]

    Here’s a tracklist compiled by the brownswood message board, no official tracklist was published along with the mix so this is best guess I believe.

    Gilles Peterson at the Movies Mix
    Rza – Ghost Dog Theme (Ghost Dog) – Victor
    Ennio Morricone – Forza G – Cherry
    Terence Blanchard – Young Malcolm (Malcolm X) – Columbia
    Christopher Young – Rounders (Rounders) – Varee Sarabande
    Christopher Young – The Hurricane (The Hurricane) – MCA
    Thomas Newman – Dead Already (American Beauty) – Dreamworks
    Tom Waits – Good Old World (Night On Earth) – Island (01:00)
    Herbie Hancock – Do a Thing (Death Wish) – Columbia
    Herbie Hancock – Berangerre’s Nightmare (Round Midnight) – CBS
    Sven Libaek – Inner Space (Inner Space) – Votary
    Piero Umiliani – Danca Primitiva (Cinevox)
    John Cameron – Burying Kes (Kes) – Trunk
    John Barry – Midnight Cowboy (Midnight Cowboy) – EMI
    Seu Jorge – Rebel Rebel (Life Aquatic) – Hollywood
    Jon Brion – Monday (I Heart Hucabees) – Milan
    Jon Brion – Here We Go (Punch Drunk Love) – Nonesuch
    Bill Lee – Nola Vocals (Shes Gotta have it) – Island
    Jon Brion – Theme (Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind) – Hollywood
    Jonny Greenwood – There Will Be Blood (There Will Be Blood) – Wea/Atlantic/Nonesuch
    Rza – Gangsters Theme (Ghost Dog) – Victor
    Marvin Gaye – T plays it Cool (Trouble Man) – Motown
    Holly Golightly – There is an End (Broken Flowers) – Hollywood
    Dennis Bovell – Jazterpiece – EMI
    Rza – Rzas Theme (Ghost Dog) – Victor
    Jonny Greenwood – Open Spaces (There Will Be Blood) – Wea/Atlantic/Nonesuch

  2. Pingback: hooray for hollywood (MPSU #17) « Mixtape Mixtape!!!

  3. Pingback: rewind selector!!! « Mixtape Mixtape!!!

  4. Quenneville

    Wonderful post! gud stuff..

Leave a Reply

